Cannot bring top shelf over the top of the sides

Hi!
I am creating vinyl storage for my husband’s Christmas present. I received some online advice about the build so I’m essentially looking to create a six’ long, 1.2’ side and 3’ tall with a bottom, middle and top shelf as well as two vertical pieces to create six equal boxes. BUT, the bottom shelf will connect to the sides from the side whereas the top shelf will sit on TOP (so the top shelf should be 2" longer assuming the sides are 1" deep". I CANNOT get the top shelf to drag over the sides. I’ve only been using the drawing and push/pull tool.

Another issue I’m having is copying the other side and having the shelves on the interior instead of breaking out the second side into multiple pieces (which it’s doing currently, please see image 2).

I have either used existing plans or drawn out my builds by hand. This is my first time attempting to use software so I am at a loss. I’ve been watching tutorials but haven’t seen anything that has the shelf sitting on top. Please help, thank you!

Share the SketchUp file so we can see exactly how you have it set up.

Are the top, bottom and shelf components? Are they instances of the same component?

I did not make them components because I seemed to have more trouble manipulating the individual pieces when I did. But I can if that’s what necessary to change the sizes? I keep deleting what I have and starting over but am just greener than a beginner with this stuff… The attachment has a little bit more because I was playing around with it.
Vinyl.skp (29.6 KB)

OK. What you have now is basically a big lump like you would whittle it out of a huge chunk of wood. You need to make components of the parts that you would make in the shop so they can be manipulated.

I made a short video while I was waiting for you to share the file. Adding the verticals and back like you now have would basically be the same process. The video might still be processing.