Can I burn the program to a disk as a backup?

I’m using Sketchtup Make 2017 in Windows 10. I downloaded the program both to my desktop and laptop. I draw in my desktop and transfer the file to the laptop. I’m a hobby woodworker and take the laptop to my shop in order to see the exact measurements to cut the wood. I do not have an internet connection in the shop so the new web version won’t work for me.

Can I burn the program onto a disk so I can install it again if either computer should crash? Is this possible, and permitted? How do I do this? The disk would only be used as a back-up for the program in the event the download is discontinued.

If this is not permitted, can I purchase a back-up disk from Trimble?

Thank you
Elizabeth

Copy the downloaded .exe installer file to a thumbdrive or disk.

Thanks. I’m really dumb about pcs. When I go to program files there is a folder for SketchUp. Do I copy the whole folder?

No.
Go to your Download folder and look for the file you downloaded from Sketchup. Probably called
SketchUpMake-2017-2-2555-90782-en-x64.exe
or similar and copy that somewhere safe.
All you need to do to install it at a later date is to go to that file and right click on it and select Install as Administrator and away you go. The file is small enough to store on a memory card in your phone, or even as an attachment to an email.

Thank you. I’ll look for it. Much appreciated!

@Box has already given you the essential answer: Copy the installer file to a place where you can use it again.

This should work with any downloadable version of SketchUp, but there is an additional twist if you’re a Pro user (which you aren’t, but this should be said for completeness): A Pro license restricts you to installing the software only, at most, two computers simultaneously.