Building Sofas and Cushioned Chairs in SketchUp

Hey SketchUp friends - I’m looking for some advice. I have a degree in Interior Design, and as part of my degree/program, I took a SketchUp course as well as an advanced SketchUp course. At this point in my career, I’m primarily creating 3D SketchUp models and photorealistic Podium renderings for other Interior Designers. I’ve noticed I really need to improve on building specific furniture pieces - such as custom sofas and cushioned chairs. I know there are some decent YouTube videos out there, but I’m looking for some sort of paid course to improve on those specific furniture-building skills in a more teacher-student environment. Anyone have advice on this?

Cheers,
Dana

First advice: Learn to cheat. If you read this forum, every day someone posts who has got his/her model totally bogged down by importing a plant or furniture component that has overly fine detail. Typical is just upholstered furniture. The game is to construct these with so few faces and edges as possible.

6 Likes

I actually think you should have as much detail as possible in your model and use proxies instead of the actual models to render.

I bet podium has a proxy system, if not, try other render engines.

As for chair that kind of modelling techniques, investigate this and maybe try talking with the author:

http://sketchucation.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=57637

Alvis would be the one, if he’s giving lessons.

1 Like

SketchUp only has problems rendering (displaying) high detailed objects, but once loaded, the bottleneck is the RAM and processor speed, so you could use Tags to display different versions of your component (high - medium - low. - 2D - 3D etc), nested inside the main component.
The Warehouse bots could be used to generate these.

You can then manually choose which version you want.