Best practice to keep dimensions and leaders connected

Raised floorbed V3.skp (6.3 MB)
I’m getting a bit frustrated. I’m trying to work as neatly as i can but it looks like every time i ad a scene to my sketchup model and/ or a tag, and update the model reference in LO. Almost
al of the dimensions are red.

Annybody have a clue what i am doing wrong here?
Raised floorbed V3.layout (11.8 MB)

1 Like

I’m pretty sure there was something about red dimensions in the LO Essentials on learn.sketchup.com

Not sure if that’s any help as I’m only new to LO myself.

Dimensions that are attached to vertices (endpoints, midpoints) have a Unique Identifier. When altering geometry, don’t delete but try to edit the existing(eg not deleting and creating new.
Some extensions alter or add info on geometry, they work with ‘observers’ that continuously are on the lookout for changes in the model and might have an impact on those Unique Identifiers.
Disabling them (and that would need a restart of SketchUp) will reduce the number of red dimensions.

Drag select all dimensions, rightclick and choose reconnect should reconnect multiple, but sometimes not all.

We talked about this in a previous post. If you change something in your model that results in the persistent ID’s of the end points getting changes, things will disconnect. You can often reconnect those things. Sometimes, however, if the dimension isn’t actually anchored to the endpoints in the model, they won’t reconnect. I see that in some of your viewports. The viewports are rendered in Raster which results in the edges being displayed rather roughly. That can make it difficult to find the actual endpoints when dimensioning.