Beginner's problems in Layout

I’m an almost complete beginner in Layout though I’ve used SU Pro for over a decade and am reasonably proficient in it.

I’m trying to print to scale from SU Pro 2023.1.341. Mostly, printing directly from SU has worked well enough for me in the past, but I thought I’d try to make this drawing look a little more professional, with a border round the drawing, and a simple Title block. And SU was misbehaving when I tried to print to scale directly. When I moved the SU window border to reshape the window from landscape to portrait or vice versa - it stretched the model as well as the window, and wouldn’t revert to normal.

But…
With my model ready to print, I clicked Send to Layout.

I slightly enlarged the viewport, and eventually managed to remove the background, both in SU and in Layout.

I hid some text in the SU model, saved the model, and tried to update Layout to see the change. The text was still there in Layout. Why? I checked the Document/References panel, and the file listed has the latest time stamp.

I tried both to click the little update symbol in the Layout sidebar (left most of the two icons here)
and also by R click on the viewport and clicking Update Model Reference (not sure if these are supposed to do the same thing?) I had saved the change in SU before trying to update.

I tried this several times. Nothing changed in LO. Instead of hiding, I deleted the text (by cutting to clipboard) saved the SU model, and updated in the Document/References panel. That worked. Pasted the text back in, hidden, saved, and updated in Layout again. That worked - the text stayed hidden. I just don’t understand that.

I drew the title text, border and title block with the rectangle and line tools. Finally managed to work out how to put them on the On Every Page layer (R click Move to Layer…).