Am I missing something?

I’ve been using Sketchup for several years now, for hobby projects that are nevertheless quite complex and published widely.

So, I just updated to Sketchup Pro 2018 - I make a point of keeping my software up to date. Having said that, I dread what now lies before me. Because Sketchup is NOT a commercial-grade software in its own right, with the full set of tools that you need for modelling, I will now need to spend the next (my estimate) 10 hours trying to re-install all the extensions that I need for my work. We’re talking about maybe 15-20 extensions. No - my old toolset does not show up in “Extension Manager”, not sure why.

Sketchup is effectively useless in its base installation - for example, there is no tool for drawing curves. The only reasonable toolset I found is BZ_Toolbar, a “Sketchucation” tool. There seems to be an issue with Sketchucation today - I can’t download any extensions at all. This toolset appears to sit entirely outside Sketchup’s realm of control.

Question - is it really Sketchup’s policy to rely on the “kindness of strangers” to develop the basic tools that you need to run the software, and for these tools to be provided at the whim of third parties? For example - if BZ_Toolbar was discontinued, Sketchup would be rendered absolutely useless for me, and I assume most other users.

It just seems to be a big risk. Aside from the huge pain and time-waste of having to re-load the toolset every year, maybe it’s time to move to a proper software that integrates and guarantees the core modelling functions?

I started using Sketchup as a free software and under those circumstances, you certainly take what you are offered for free - no complaints there. But is it really viable as a professional package?

Or am I missing something?

I wouldn’t agree with this statement at all.