Aligning two circular tubes

I am wasting way too much time trying to align a stovepipe chimney with the top of the fireplace. I can’t seem to pick the centers by inference. Someone here must have an expert trick.

Ortal Fireplace.skp (1.5 MB)

I am by no means an expert… actually a VERY new user.

But I did this:

1. Explode the group into the three components
  2. Draw two lines over the two circles in question to make it very easy to grab the ‘center’ of either
  3. Turn On xray.
  4. Select the top chimney and new crossed lines…
  5. Move the center of that cross onto the bottom cross until they snap together
  6. Deselect, and then hide the top chimney’
  7. Erase my cross lines.

I can try and make a video if this is helpful, but I’m sure someone else actually knows the trick you’re hoping for. :wink:

Ortal Fireplace.skp (1.5 MB)

First I would switch to a monochrome view, then switch the back faces and eliminate some or all of the nesting. Realistically it would have been faster to model the upper pipe in place.
I would draw a short line marking the center of the lower pipe. Next I would find the center of the upper pipe using the move tool, click to start the move. Hit the up arrow key. Move the mouse to the end of the line marking the center of the lower pipe. When the endpoint is indicated hit the up arrow key again. Click to finish the move.
I would do a gif if you wish, might take a bit.

I referenced the tape measure tool to an edge where you place the stovepipe and that gave me the center. Then staying on the blue axis (PgUp arrow) I drew a line. You can see it in X-ray mode. Then I used that to center the stovepipe and move down on the blue axis using the
PgUp arrow key. Similar to the Danimaupin method.

Stovepipe.skp (1.6 MB)

Change to Monochrome so you can see what you are doing, then use Inferencing to grab the chimney by the centre, then use inference again to place it on the centre.
Centre infer

1 Like