What computer to buy?

Hello!
I am a free-lance Interior Designer that has been doing mostly small drawings by hand. (I used AutoCAD in college & a bit during an internship) Over the last year I’ve gotten bigger jobs and would like to try the Sketchup Pro (or other? suggestions?) I am planning on purchasing a small laptop- possibly with a removable monitor- so I can easily show clients photos of ideas & my drawings as well. My projects are mostly residential- a few rooms at a time. I also design some large art installations as well. What would you recommend? I would like to keep the computer under $400-
No MAC please…

Hi,

$400 is pretty low for this sort of work. I hope that you’ll be willing to go a little more than this.

Otherwise for the $400 range. that money will certainly go a lot further when shopping for a refurbished computer, or even a good used one.

Try to hold out for a dedicated graphics card. . . the rest of the specs will fall into alignment with the dedicated graphics, more or less.

If the description for the Graphics says Intel HD Graphics then that’s referring to an integrated graphics chip which is part of the motherboard – and also the sort of graphics solution that is set up to handle the minimum requirements for computing.

The dedicated graphics approach has specialized graphics cards inserted into the computer as an extra feature. and they’re typically made by Nvidia, or AMD (…Radeon series) and they usually start to appear in the $800 price range.

At the $400 range there just isn’t a lot of options available past what the basic component set is. so there’s not a lot of recommendations that can be made.

Here’s a sample of <a href=Discounted & Clearance Lenovo Laptops | Outlet | Lenovo US Outlet>refurbished systems on the Lenovo Site. . . all of which have dedicated graphics cards, and those that have the higher price range are essentially using better CPU’s/Processors… and also have more memory which is always very desirable.

1 Like