Wade's SubD Gallery - Original Thread* (1st day with SubD/QFT/Vertex Tools!)

These tools are so expletive deleted awesome! I haven’t had this much fun modeling in years.

Quick lunch hour doodle. I am hooked. This is an absolute game changer for me!

Thank you, @thomthom for these incredible tools.

7 Likes

I’m very happy to hear this. :smiley: And thank you for posting back the example of your lunch hour work. (That’s actually something several people said to me, they do some modelling during lunch - that’s some mighty productive lunches people have!)

Do you mind if I post back this example on the SUbD facebook page? SUbD

I’ll provide whatever link-back you want in the credits. That’s a lovely model.

4 Likes

I’m new to 3d modeling. Been working with SU for three weeks now. Would be great to see a demo of how you made that bottle with Vertex Tools. I watched the videos on the extension page. I also downloaded it. Reading the manual as I play around with it this evening. I’m sure it’s capable of far more then I can even imagine at this point. :slight_smile:

1 Like

@appliancejunk, you may want to learn to crawl before learning to walk. In other words, learn how to layup the bottle with SU’s native tools. Besides lathing out a shape with the Follow Me, you can use Push/Pull, Scale and Move to get the same thing with lots of tweaking options. See this bulbous form for one example and scroll down to see the kidney bean tutorial. A lot of things can be done with the tools that come with SU.

I like sculpting low-poly in part because there are less faces/edges to deal with. But if I need to 3D print something, then high-poly rules and extensions like SubD can be applied to my low-poly models. And I’m currently putting together a tutorial on modeling an ornate, traditional drawer pull using native tools with the intent to use the lowish-poly model with a subdivision extension.

2 Likes

Yeah, that sounds like a good idea to me too.

Awesome link, thanks!