Realistic 3d printing

I am a second year architectural student and my project is to build a brick house then 3d print it. Could you direct me to tutorial that would explain how to texture the walls so that the model would have the look and feel of real brick.
Regard
Harry

Making a texture out of geometry is not recommended or well supported by SU and, I suspect, by 3D printing, because it is so extravagently wasteful of computing resources.

Within the range of SU’s more conventional uses–that is, 3D visual representations–textures are represented by bitmap images. To cover a model in, say, tiny little models of bricks, would be a ruinously greedy user of real-time computing resources as your system labors to render that many faces, and the output file would likely be huge and unwieldy.

Notwithstanding whatever new considerations are raised by 3D printing, I think your idea is not practical in SU. It’s hard to picture a tutorial about how to do something that is essentially poor modeling practice.

But who knows? You may get lucky searching YouTube–as I’m sure you know, people put all kinds of questionable stuff there, and there are many SU demos.

-Gully

3 Likes

If you want to print a brick-like surface then you need to model a brick-like surface.
Like Gully points out, that will be a challenge.

I learned from Patrick Fleege’s presentation at 3D Basecamp that sometimes it’s necessary to exaggerate the scale of fine details so that they’re …
A. Big enough to see and feel in the printed model.
B. Within the resolution capabilities of the printer.

Patrick Fleege is Sr Project Mgr at LGM Architectural Visualization, Minturn, Colorado
Visit them here: LGM Architectural Visualization

Notice LGM has an information page addressing the specific needs of Architecture Students.
Information and Help for Students — LGM Public Media