Plugin to design a very specific product

I have an idea of a product that I would like to manufacture. It is a mechanical device that requires CNC machining and some other fabrication processes (bending, welding, anodizing, polishing etc.).

But there are so many variations that I think it would be better to allow the customer to design it rather than try to guess the most popular configuration. Also I would like to give the customer the option of making some parts themselves and only ordering the components they actually need to save costs.

I would like to create software that would allow them to specify parameters and have the program generate a 3D representation that they can then manipulate using Sketchup’s tools to customize.

1. Is this possible in a Sketchup plugin?
  2. Do you know of another Sketchup plugin that is similar that I could examine (preferable open source)?
  3. I have some programming experience but not in Ruby. Is there a book that shows how to create this software particularly well.

Thanks.

I suppose the first question to get out of the way would be is the degree of specificity in this product beyond the scope a dynamic component with a range of parameters being specified by the user in a dialog box?

You could have a look at the SU Draw Parametric Shapes plugin on the Sketchucation plugin store (seehttp://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=jwm_shapes).

That uses a parametric approach to draw a range of 3D shapes. The most complex (with most parameters) is the Helical Ramp with Sides.

One drawback with the parametric.rb ruby script used in this plugin is that the parameters are not listed in a consistent or controllable order after the first use. A second, minor, drawback is that if you have two or more plugins which use parametric.rb then you get two context menu entries instead of one to change any component based on it.