Optimizing Sketchup Memory and Performance

Not really a technical bug, but my model is starting to hog resources on my iMac as it grows, and I am just getting started. It’s OK when I zoom in, but the structure - which is 150,000 Sq. Feet - is getting crawly in full view. Is there a way to optimize memory, clear the cache or some other trick that doesn’t involve simplifying the structure to speed things up?
Particulars of my iMac:
iMac (24-inch, Early 2008), 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM, Macintosh HD, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro 256 MB

Your machine is 9 years old,
has minimal (1 half the recommended) system RAM,
and 1 quarter the recommended (1 half the minimum) GRAM.

If you can, either double the system memory, or bring it up to 16GB if possible.

Other than that:

Reports that SmoothMouse does not play nice with SketchUp.

Purge the model from the Model Info > Statistics panel

Switch off textures while modeling (shaded should be okay.)

Search the forum on “performance”.

I have a 2007 iMac with an even slower graphics card and you have to model very carefully to avoid SU slow downs…

changing the HD to a 480 GB Solid State SATA Drive made a huge difference [and was relatively cheep], but badly made models still slow it to a crawl…

use a simple Template, delete guides regularly, work on components in a separate file, don’t paint anything with textures until your wanting to export…

I also use MenuMeters to watch my CPU and when it goes high I wait for SU to ‘catch up’ before continuing…

do not load any render plugins when modelling…

john

1 Like

In addition/expansion to what @DanRathbun and @john_drivenupthewall wrote:

Unless you run short on memory you can apply textures, but switch to the hidden line or shaded (without textures) face style while drawing. Textures increase the file size, but have little effect on performance unless they are being viewed based on the face style.