Need to create an inverse or shell of a 3D surface

I am new at SU and am trying to create model to 3D print in plastic, which I can then use as a mold to cast acrylic. (Think: The inside surface of a mask.) So, I’ve created an example of the object I want to cast in acrylic. Now, I need to make the inverse of that (or in other words the negative space of the object or a shell of the object’s surface) to print in plastic- so that when I fill the 3D printed plastic with liquid acrylic, it will cure into the shape I’ve created in this file:test.skp (398.1 KB)

How can I make something that is simply the shell of the top surface of the object? Please help! Thanks in advance!

It’s easier to do than to explain.
You basically need to intersect the face with the surface, then reverse everything and make a box around it.

Mold.skp (244.5 KB)

2 Likes

I love the good old positive/negative illusion that comes from looking at the face part of your “mold”

Using SketchUp Pro makes this process simpler: you can create the box and use the Solid tools to substract the positive from the mold.

Anssi

@Box’s and @Anssi’s answers were correct, of course, but I think perhaps we have still not hit bottom conceptually.

SU is a surface modeler. There is no mass or material “inside” of an SU model. There is only the thin, thin skin of the modeled surface, and nothing on either side.

A surface representing a positive volume in SU is not merely similar to the surface representing its negative or figure-ground alternate; it is identical. The positive and negative are the exact same geometry, just seen from opposite sides.

To derive the negative counterpart of a positive surface, you don’t really have to subtract the positive feature from a block; just turn the surface around and you have the corresponding negative.