Looks Good In Sketchup Very bad in .stl file

I am new to both SketchUp and 3d printing. (about 5 weeks now)

This is my first complex part and after working through the several tutorials from Trimble and others on Youtube I was pretty proud of this part! It looks pretty nice in SketchUp but when I get it into the slicer software and print it it’s a different story!

I am willing to bet way down in some pull down sub-menu there is EXACTLY the thing I need to fix this in one click though!

I am going to post several images so you can see what I see…the first two images are in SketchUp (I discovered we have a one image per post rule so several posts follow) …

So what am I doing wrong? Or better yet, what magic tool can I click :slight_smile: (besides smoothing) that will actually take all those “wrinkles” out?

Rob

Now I did REALLY struggle to get a circle on one end and a rectangle with different radii on the other end AND make it look nice (this is an RC Airplane model part) Now after I got the long period of stretching, shrinking extending, moving, etc to get nice flowing lines I did use he smoothing tool.

and Hey, it looks NICE! I was so happy!

Then I exported it to STL and in the slicing software you see some shading that is not quite, uhhhh, smooth but still not too shabby!

But then when you slice it you can really see it…So how did I screw this up so badly?

Unfotunately, that is probably what your model looks like in SketchUp, too. Only difference is that you have those edges smoothed, right now.

If you can share the file, some folks around here can probably post steps to generate smoother geometry from the get-go, and help create a nice smooth file for printing.

1 Like

Well duh! to me! I supposed that is much better than screen shots!

So here is how I started. I post this only in case I did it wrong from the git-go .

Note the name, this was my 5th try at doing this cowl :wink: