I'm concerned that 3D warehouse is getting crappy

3D Warehouse is really slow and freeze very often. When I search models in google chrome, not in SkechUp, there is no problem though. and also, 3D warehouse need a better organizing system. I think most of the pro version users are looking for real exciting products, not crappy models just someone made. It is good that everybody can upload and share their works, However, when I searched a coffee table, the search result was filled with a bunch of “box” which made by a guy. It really degrade the quality of the archives, It is better to separate real products model from the others. SketchUp needs to be related with the real business world, like Revit is. As a professional interior designer, I really wish that.

5 Likes

We’re working on some solutions for this. At Google, we tried a couple of things to help with this, and we never did find a great solution. Here’s a couple of suggestions:

1. Look at the “Featured Catalogs” strip to see if there are building product manufacturers that submit their products. If they aren’t there, email and ask them, so you get the real deal.

2. Search collections instead of models, for people that would be interested in the general topic rather than just the name of the item. Search for coffee table | 3D Warehouse

A couple of examples from that search:

https://3dwarehouse.sketchup.com/collection.html?id=a7afa9016c2ebdb0285c6dcf7035be71

Follow the person who has tastes that match yours, or create your own collections to filter these.

I’m sure other users have suggestions?

1 Like

hmm… and some that are Featured don’t have their inventory of Coffee Tables: http://www.dwr.com/category/manufacturer/herman-miller/coffee-tables.do I guess technically, these were “designed by X for Herman Miller@”

@tak2101
" SketchUp needs to be related with the real business world, like Revit is. As a professional interior designer, I really wish that."