Creating solid pentagonal panel from geometry? Spherical Dodecahedra

I am working on a project that involves creating a spherical dodecahedra using 12 pentagons glued to a 3 inch plastic sphere. I need to be able to create a 3D printable part (which will be printed 12 times) and I am having trouble figuring out how to make a solid part out of the geometry that I have so far. I am pretty new to 3D modeling in general so this may end up being something very easy for someone with a bit more knowledge of SketchUp.

I have created 2 spherical dodecahedra. One of them is three inch and the other is 3.25 inch. I then joined all vertices from the smaller dodecahedra to the larger. The part that I am struggling with is creating a solid part out of just one of the panels. I want to be able to increase the size of the interior sphere as well as the depth of the panel incase I end up using a smaller/larger plastic sphere or if I decide to make a thicker/thiner shell.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Hopefully what I am looking for makes sense. :slight_smile:

I have attached the file that I am currently working from.

Dodecahedron_3.skp (1.2 MB)

Nice modelling!

To get a solid panel:

Explode everything to all raw geometry.

Window select (left to right) around one panel. Cut to clipboard.

Delete everything else.

Paste clipboard contents back in place.

Go round each panel edge, and draw a line across between opposite vertices once, to create a face on that edge. Delete the line (the face should stay).

When you’ve done all five edges, Reverse or Orient faces, to get all front faces pointing out.

Select all, and make a component. Save As…

Here’s the result, with the axes reset to the centre of the sphere:

Pentagonal shell section.skp (161.1 KB)

Remember, to view it AS A COMPONENT, Import the file, don’t Open it.

You may want to reorient the axes for printing.

2 Likes