Better dimension in Layout

Hi,

The Chained Dimension Option is really missing in Layout.

The current dimensions are single ones.

I work with Vectorworks, and a chained dimension are for example 12 dimensions chained together.
So instead of placing or moving 1 dimension at a time a chained dimensions saves you lots of time.

I’m an architect and I use Sketchup and Layout for all my drawings.
This would be a huge timesaver.

If you like we can set up a Teamviewer meeting and I can show you how this works in Vectorworks.

Thanks,
Joep

Hi Joep,

I tried looking up chained dimensions, but Vectorworks Knowledge Base seems to have a gap. To clarify, is a chained dimension a series of dimensions that are aligned?

If so, LayOut has its own shortcut for producing aligned dimensions. Matt at Master SketchUp put together a pretty good tutorial on LayOut Dimensions. More specifically, check out Matt’s description of aligning multiple dimensions in LayOut (Tip 1): set your first dimension, then simply double click the next point on your model viewport you’d like to dimension and LayOut will quickly produce aligned dimensions.

Once you’ve churned out aligned dimensions, it’s pretty easy to select all and group them for control of the entire set.

Let us know if this is something closer to what you’re looking for!

Mark

Hi Mark,

Yes, that is what I mean,
Only a double-click.
Haha that was easy…

Any idea how to make all dimensions look the same when you start working?
I don’t like the perpendicular lines on the dimension line.
See attachment.

I have to change that for every single dimension…

Thanks!

Sure, this is possible too using the Shape Style and Dimensions Style styling dialogs in LayOut (both in the Window menu). The key here is to select the Dimensions tool and then set all of your dimensions style settings before you start drawing a dimension.