Best way for a novice to learn to use SketchUp

Hello,
I am 68 years old and semi-retired. I have lots of hands on mechanical experience and am reasonably proficient with most common computer programs, but no design programs of any kind. I am interested in learning how to use SketchUp for personal use - I don’t ever expect to become highly proficient. Can someone suggest how to best learn to use the program.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Ben

Hello @benm,
Best way is a relative term. What may be best for me is not necessarily the best way for you. For me, the most advantageous method for learning SketchUp was to study the numerous online video tutorials that are found on the SU website. Many of these videos have been updated since I became a SketchUp user. The beginning tutorials and most of the Training Series tutorials are HERE:

There are many resources available to assist in learning the software, one of which is the SketchUp Sage website. Some of the resources indicated on that site are shown HERE:

By the way, being 68 and semi retired “ain’t necessarily a bad thing”. Many SU users fit that description, including me.

Check out: www.harwoodpodcast.com
and do a search for “Sketchup”. There are over 60 video tutorials on how to use every SU tool, draw floor plans, kitchens and most other operations native to SU. I, too, am 68, semi-retired and use SU every day. Good luck.

1 Like

Have an idea of what you want to make in the back of your mind while reviewing all the basic videos and beyond mentioned above in order to retain some of the stuff you think would be useful to fabricate your project.

Begin your project. Get stuck and return to videos, Knowledge Center and come back here, posting images and SKP file.