Advice to Ruby Newbies from a Not Quite Newbie Anymore

I started to learn Ruby and the SketchUp API as a total Newbie last January shortly after SketchUp announced licensing for extensions. (I was already an expert SketchUp user since version 1.0 almost 15 years ago. And I had programmed in a variety of other non object oriented languages in the past.)

What I’ve been able to accomplished might have taken 2 years without the answers to my newbie questions posted here by many “sages”.
But there were many times when I knew so little that I didn’t know the right questions to ask.

So for the benefit of any new newbies, here’s my personal and idiosyncratic list of the things I wish I knew from the start.

Code editing and testing:
• Download the free NotePad++ and use it for editing.
• Download the free extension SketchUp Ruby Code Editor (SRCE) by Alexander C. Schreyer for use in testing your code.
• I usually put each new method I write in a separate .rb file with the following overall structure:

``
module Mymodule
def self.mymethod(myparam1, myparam2)
# called by myothermethod1 and myothermethod2
# calculates myresult1 and myresult2 given myparam1 and myparam2
mod = Sketchup.active_model # Open model
ent = mod.active.entities # All active entities in model
sel = mod.selection # Current selection

#logic of mymethod goes here

return myresult1, myresult2
end #def

=begin
#test
myparam1 = 22 #plugged value
myparam2 = 45 #plugged value
result = self.mymethod myparam1, myparam2
myresult1 = result[0]
puts "myresult1 = " + myresult1.to_s
myresult2 = result[1]
puts "myresult2 = " + myresult2.to_s
=end

end #module
``
• For testing using the SRCE, I temporarily insert a # in front of =begin and =end.
• If my method calls another one of my methods I must first open and load that method using the SRCE also. That’s because SCRE wraps my module inside its own module so cannot find any methods loaded directly to Sketchup at startup.

The SketchUp Ruby API